October 21, 2017

2011 school terms and holidays

2011 school terms and holidays

School terms and holidays for 2011 for state and state-integrated primary, intermediate, secondary and composite schools. It also provides Anniversary Day holidays for 2011.

2011 term dates

From the MOE website

Differences for 2011

  • The usual length of each school term has been adjusted for 2011. Terms 1 and 2 are slightly longer than usual, and Term 4 is two weeks shorter. This adjustment has been made to align the October term holiday with the final stages of the 2011 Rugby World Cup tournament.
  • The earliest start date for 2011 has been amended. The earliest date on which schools may open in 2011 is Monday 31 January (rather than Tuesday 1 February, as previously).

Primary and intermediate schools

This table shows term start and end dates schools must use.

Term Start date End date
1 Between Monday 31 January (at the earliest) and Monday 7 February (at the latest) Friday 15 April (100 to 110 half-days)
2 Monday 2 May Friday 15 July (108 half-days)
3 Monday 1 August Friday 7 October (100 half-days)
4 Tuesday 25 October No later than Tuesday 20 December (82 half-days)*

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 390 half-days in 2011.

Secondary and composite schools

This table shows term start and end dates schools must use.

Term Start date End date
1 Between Monday 31 January (at the earliest) and Monday 7 February (at the latest) Friday 15 April (100 to 110 half-days)
2 Monday 2 May Friday 15 July (108 half-days)
3 Monday 1 August Friday 7 October (100 half-days)
4 Tuesday 25 October No later than Tuesday 13 December (72 half-days)*

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half-days in 2011.

2011 holidays

Schools must be closed in 2011 on Saturdays and Sundays, and on these days:

  • New Years Day – 1 January
  • Day after New Years Day – 2 January
  • Waitangi Day – 6 February (Sunday)
  • Good Friday – 22 April
  • Easter Monday – 25 April
  • Day after Easter Monday – 26 April (Tuesday)
  • Anzac Day – 25 April
  • Queen’s Birthday – 6 June (Monday)
  • Labour Day – 24 October (Monday)
  • Christmas Day – 25 December
  • Boxing Day – 26 December

And the relevant Anniversary Day holiday as below.

Anniversary Day holidays 2011

Location Day and date Occurs within
Auckland Monday 31 January school holidays
Taranaki Monday 14 March Term 1
Hawkes Bay Friday 21 October school holidays
Wellington Monday 24 January school holidays
Marlborough Monday 31 October Term 4
Nelson Monday 31 January school holidays
Canterbury Friday 11 November Term 4
Canterbury (South) Monday 26 September Term 3
Westland Monday 5 December Term 4
Otago Monday 21 March Term 1
Southland Monday 17 January school holidays
Chatham Islands Monday 28 November Term 4
Please like & share:

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)